Link to Facebook Link to Google Plus

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga is an ancient form of yoga brought to the West by Yogi Bhajan. Called ‘the yoga of awareness’ and is an incredible experience in awakening and raising our consciousness, developing intuition, increasing self knowledge and unleashing the unlimited creative potential that exists within each of us whilst healing on a cellular level.

Kundalini Yoga is a combination of posture, movement, breath work (pranayama), chanting (mantra) and meditation into powerful sets called kriyas (sequenced sets of exercises) which target specific areas. While the basic structure of classes remains the same, there is great variety in the content of kriyas.

A Kriya focuses on a particular aspect of the body such as cleansing the liver or strengthening the immune system. Performing the exercise correctly and applying a particular form of breathing for a designated period of time is fundamental to the technology of Kundalini Yoga.

How Kundalini Yoga differs to other Yoga

One of the ways Kundalini Yoga is set apart from other yoga is that exercises can be very dynamic and active, involving movement with breathing patterns creating rhythmic exercise. Kundalini Yoga goes beyond the physical performance of poses with an emphasis on breathing, meditation, mudras and chanting. It’s not so focused on alignment but on energy. Depending on the kriya, which cannot be changed, sequences can be intense, dynamic and personally challenging.

See also:

The foundations of Yin yoga are rooted in the Daoist traditions of ancient China which is based upon the philosophy of living in harmony with the way of nature.

More about Yin Yoga

Hatha Yoga is a particular system of yoga from which several other styles of yoga originate.

More about Hatha Yoga